Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2003-20-03 - 11:45 a.m.

march 20

16 years old when I went to war,

To fight for a land fit for heroes,

God on my side, and a gun in my hand,

Counting my days down to zero,

And I marched and I fought and I bled and I died,

And I never did get any older,

But I knew at the time that a year in the line,

Is a long enough life for a soldier,

We all volunteered, and we wrote down our names,

And we added two years to our ages,

Eager for life and ahead of the game,

Ready for history�s pages,

And we fought and we brawled and we whored �til we stood,

Ten thousand shoulder to shoulder,

A thirst for the Hun, we were food for the gun,

And that�s what you are when you�re soldiers,

I heard my friend cry, and he sank to his knees,

Coughing blood as he screamed for his mother,

And I fell by his side, and that�s how we died,

Clinging like kids to each other,

And I lay in the mud and the guts and the blood,

And I wept as his body grew colder,

And I called for my mother and she never came,

Though it wasn�t my fault and I wasn�t to blame,

The day not half over and ten thousand slain,

And now there�s nobody remembers our names,

And that�s how it is for a soldier.

i just thought that song was so appropriate for the war going on now...good luck to you guys! may you bring us to victory!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!